

# Basketball Coaches Association of New York, Inc.

Dave Archer
Executive Director
524 Dickson Street
Endicott, New York 13760
(607) 785-7032
cell (607) 341-6650
DArcher@stny.rr.com

### 2024 Mr. New York State Basketball

## Basketball Coaches Association of New York, Inc (BCANY) Names 2024 Mr New York Basketball

### Johnuel "Boogie" Fland, Archbishop Stepinac 6'3" PG Committed to Arkansas

Rivals 100 ranks him #10 Nationally ESPN 100 ranks him #15 Nationally 247 Sports ranks him #17 Nationally and #2 by Position Selected to play in the McDAAG Boogie led his team to a 25-4 record, a #13 ESPN Top 25 National HS team ranking and back to back CHSAA Championships.

**Johnuel "Boogie" Fland, Archbishop Stepinac HS** is named the recipient of the 2024 "Mr. New York Basketball" Award by the Basketball Coaches Association of New York, Inc.Fland was selected by a BCANY Committee which included high school coaches, members of the media and reputable recruiting service experts.

The **Mr. New York Basketball** award is presented by the Basketball Coaches Association of New York, Inc, which consists of basketball coaches at the scholastic and collegiate levels from throughout the entire state. The Mr. Basketball Award is widely viewed as the top award that a high school basketball player in New York State can receive.

#### **Previous Mr. New York Basketball Award Winners:**

- 2023- Brandon Gardner, Christ the King HS, Middle Village, NY
- 2022- Jaquan Sanders, Our Saviour Lutheran School, Bronx, NY
- 2021- Jordan Riley, Brentwood HS, Brentwood, NY
- 2020 R.J. Davis, Archbishop Stepinac HS. White Plains, NY
- 2019 Joseph Girard III, from Glens Falls HS
- 2018 Savion Lewis- Half Hollow Hills East HS
- 2017 Isaiah Washington, St. Raymond's HS
- 2016 Kevin Huerter Shenendehowa HS,

#### 2015 - Matt Ryan (Iona Prep)

- 2014 Isaiah Whitehead of Lincoln HS
- 2013 Jon Severe (Christ the King HS)
- 2012 Dajuan Coleman (Jamesville-Dewitt High School)
- 2011 Co- Jabarie Hinds (Mount Vernon HS)
- 2011 Co- Achraf Yacoubou (Long Island Lutheran HS)
- 2010 Tobias Harris (Half Hollow Hills West HS)
- 2009 Co- Lance Stephenson (Lincoln HS)
- 2009 Co- Brandon Triche (Jamesville-DeWitt HS)
- 2008 Sylven Landesberg (Holy Cross HS)
- 2007 Jonathan Flynn (Niagara Falls HS)
- 2006 Jonathan Mitchell (Mt. Vernon HS)
- 2005 Greg Paulus, (Syracuse Christian Brothers Academy)
- 2004 Sebastian Telfair (Abraham Lincoln HS)
- 2003 Tyler Relph (Rochester McQuaid HS)
- 2002 Jason Fraser (Amityville HS)
- 2001 Julius Hodge (St. Raymond's HS)
- 2000 Peter Mulligan (St. Raymond's HS)
- 1999 Leonard Stoke (Buffalo, Turner Carroll HS)
- 1998 Anthony Glover (Rice HS)
- 1997 Elton Brand (Peekskill HS)
- 1996 Willie Dersch (Holy Cross HS)
- 1995 Stephon Marbury (Lincoln HS)
- 1994 Felipe Lopez (Rice HS)
- 1993 Danya Abrams (Hackley School)
- 1992 John Wallace (Greece-Arcadia HS)
- 1991 Terrence Rencher (St. Raymond's HS)
- 1990 Jamal Mashburn (Cardinal Hayes HS)
- 1989 Kenny Anderson (Archbishop Molloy HS)
- 1988 Malik Sealy (Tolentine HS)
- 1987 Co- Greg Koubek (Shenendehowa HS)
- 1987 Co King Rice (Binghamton HS)
- 1986 Keith Robinson (Buffalo Cleveland HS)