

Basketball Coaches Association of New York, Inc.

Dave Archer Executive Director 524 Dickson Street Endicott, New York 13760 (607) 785-7032 cell (607) 341-6650

BCANY Winner of the 2024 Miss New York Basketball

Kateryna Koval, Long Island Lutheran HS 6'4" Forward Committed to Notre Dame

- espnW 100 ranks her #5 Nationally
- Prospectnation.com ranks her #5 Nationally
- Selected to play in the McDAAG
- Kate led her team to a 21-1 record and a #1 National team ranking according to both ESPN Hoopgurlz and Maxpreps National Power rankings.
- She was also recently named to the Jersey Mike's Naismith HS Girls All-American Second Team.

Kateruna Koval of Long Island Lutheran HS is named the 2024 Miss New York Basketball Award winner by the Basketball Coaches Association of New York, Inc.. Koval was selected by a BCANY Committee which included high school coaches, members of the media and reputable recruiting service experts.

The **Miss New York Basketball** award is presented by the Basketball Coaches Association of New York, Inc, which consists of basketball coaches at the scholastic and collegiate levels from throughout the entire state. The Miss Basketball Award is widely viewed as the top award that a high school basketball player in New York State can receive.

Previous winners of the Miss New York Basketball Award have been:

- 2023 Gretchen Dolan, Williamsville South HS, Williamsville, NY
- 2022 Paris Clark, Long Island Lutheran H.S.
- 2021 Sonia Citron, Ursuline HS, New Rochelle, NY
- 2020 Kateri Poole South Shore HS, Brooklyn, NY
- 2019 Aubrey Griffin Ossining HS, Ossining, NY
- 2018 Jordan Nixon The Mary Louis Academy (Jamaica, NY), (CHSAA)
- 2017 Co Winner Andra Espinoza-Hunter Ossining HS, Ossining (Section 1),
- 2017 Co Winner- Danielle Patterson, The Mary Louis Academy, Jamaica, NY(CHSAA)

- 2016- Dominique Toussaint-Christ the King HS, Middle Village, NY
- 2015- Lauren Brozoski of Long Island Lutheran HS
- 2014 Mariah Ruff of Oneonta HS
- 2013 Saniya Chong (Ossining HS)
- 2012- Breanna Stewart (Cicero North Syracuse HS)
- 2011- Bria Smith (Christ the King HS)
- 2010- Bria Hartley (North Babylon HS)
- 2009- leasia Walker (Copiague HS)
- 2008- Shenise Johnson (Rush-Henrietta High School)
- 2007- Lorin Dixon (Christ the King HS)
- 2006- Tina Charles (Christ the King HS)
- 2005- Carrem Gay (Christ the King HS)
- 2004- Nicky Anosiki (St. Peter's Girl's HS -Staten Island)
- 2003- Cori Chambers (The Ursuline School)
- 2002- Jenna Viani (Poughkeepsie -Our Lady of Lourdes HS)
- 2001-Bethany LeSueur (Garden City HS)
- 2000 Carolyn Gottstein (Albany HS)
- 1999 Nicole Kaczmarski (Sachem HS)
- 1998 Sue Bird (Queens, Christ the King HS)
- 1997 Kate Smith (Roy C. Ketcham HS)
- 1996 Missy West (Malone, Franklin Academy)
- 1995 Caryn Schoff (St. Johnsville Central School)
- 1995 Chamique Holdsclaw (Queens, Christ the King HS)
- 1994 Sandy Mitchell (Waterloo HS)
- 1993 Suzanne Mayo (Valley Central HS)
- 1992 Jennifer Scanlon (Shenendehowa HS)
- 1991 Katina Mack (Monticello HS)
- 1990 Debbie Barnes (Shenendehowa HS)
- 1989 Norrine Powers (Nanuet HS)
- 1988 Tammy Reiss (Eldred HS)
- 1987 Monika Kost (Lindenhurst HS)
- 1986 Margaret McKeon (Queens, Christ the King HS)